Boy, it’s been a while since I’ve checked in about GAPS!  The good news is that in a relatively short amount of time, my body has become much happier.  After stalling at Stage 2 for what seemed like years, I experienced a bit of a quantum leap and subsequent stages went by quickly.  I’ve now finished introducing most Stage 5 foods, and am gearing up for Stage 6 – and there’s no indication that I’ll have any problems at this point, as long as I stick to foods that are legal for those on the full GAPS diet.

This is great news!  It means, among other things, that when I forget to pack a lunch I don’t have to starve.  This afternoon, halfway through a long rehearsal, I found myself really hungry and without any pre-packed food.  After a quick trip to the deli counter at my co-op, I returned with a poached chicken breast and a golden beet & kale salad – featuring raw vegetables, ladies and gentlemen, all of which went down just fine, thank you very much.

The kale was a big step, and the fact that I seem to have digested it without incident means that less-fibrous raw lettuce (a Stage 5 food that I haven’t officially introduced yet) won’t be a problem.  This is a very good thing, and just in time for summer; I don’t have to slave over hot soup during the dog days of August – I’ll be able to enjoy cool salads and smoothies again.  Ah, smoothies!  I’d almost forgotten about you!

And maybe in the next week or two I’ll work up to these absolutely luscious, completely GAPS-legal brownies from Cheeseslave – holla!

So, as I near the end of the introduction phase of GAPS, I can absolutely say that it has been worth it.  It has not been easy; that I’ll admit.  Although I haven’t blogged much about this side of it, the introduction phase dredged up some significant healing crises for me over the last six weeks: I endured some of the worst depression and anxiety I’ve ever experienced, plus a crazy case of hives across my back and chest that burned and itched for days and days.  Even though these were painful experiences, I knew their origins and knew that some powerful healing was taking place through the diet, so there was no question that I would stick with it.  As a pleasant side effect, I’ve lost almost 15 pounds and feel more energetic.  I recommend the diet highly to anyone who thinks they might benefit from it, and would be glad to provide support for those who are ready to take the plunge themselves.  Feel free to comment here, or contact me privately (see the About page).

Full GAPS (and Cheeseslave brownies), here I come!