Rachel Meeks of SmallNotebook.org wrote an e-book last year called Simple Blogging, from which I learned a great deal about the world of professional blogging.  One of her hard and fast rules is, let your audience know what to expect.  If you’re going to stop blogging, let your audience know that you’re taking a break, and when you’ll be back.  And then be sure you’re back by this date.

I broke this rule big time, didn’t I?  Gone for a month with narry a word to let you all know what was happening.  My apologies!  And now I have to break the rule again, because I need to take an indefinite break from blogging for the meantime.

Since college I’ve been nursing pain in my hands, wrists, and forearms from too much computer use – yes folks, ye olde carpal tunnel syndrome.  Right about the time I started back up on my daily blog posts, I also dipped my hand into the world of professional freelance writing.  Great ideas, both, but they couldn’t have come at a worse time as my carpal tunnel kicked into painfully high gear over the last six weeks.  I’m putting my hope in acupuncture treatments and avoidance of all unnecessary computer activity.  I contemplated handwriting this blog post and scanning the papers in for your reading pleasure, but let’s just get through this as best we can, shall we?

Other factors contributed to my long absence: two musical concerts which took up a lot of time; a new job and a long commute, with not much access to the internet; and a whole lot of soul-searching as I sit with some big questions about my personal and professional future.  Ah, just when I thought I had it figured out!  What a silly notion.

I really appreciate all of you who have enjoyed this blog over time, and I hope I can come back to it on a fairly regular basis, but for now please expect posts to be sporadic at best.  There’s a ton of past content to click through, and you are welcome to continue leaving your thoughtful and thought-provoking comments – I love the conversations!  And thanks, everyone, for understanding.

Bloggers: have you ever had to step back from your blogging commitments?  What worked for you?

