Springtime is peeking through the stormclouds here in Sacto, leaving me a little giddy as I browse through the produce department. I’m in love, and it tastes soooo good. Leeks are the very color of spring – fresh, light, sunny green in the middle, tinged on either side with snow-white and deep black-green. They have a sweet, earthy, unmistakably springtime flavor that I can’t stop putting in my dishes. Quiche, soup, omelets, and this: an easy Spring Vegetable Pie based on MaryJane Butters’ BakeOver dish.

In a castiron pan I sauteed leeks, garlic, kale, mushrooms, and a pear in butter for about 5-7 minutes, then stirred in pre-cooked butternut squash. I sprinkled grated cheddar on top, then laid a rolled-out crust dough on top of that. Stuck it in a 425-degree oven for 20 minutes, turned out onto a cutting board and sliced in after a few minutes’ rest.

The taste was wonderful! Don’t get hung up on the pear – it was an awesome addition, but you can combine pretty much whatever you want – veggies, fruits, meats, cheeses. An easy, elegant one-dish meal.

What food says SPRING to you?

