All right, all right, I know.  I’ve tried this before.  I love the idea of a blog, except for the whole “regular posting” thing which kicks my commitment phobia into high gear – so I make no promises this time around.  I’m gonna post when it occurs to me, which may be daily or may be monthly.  I’m shooting for somewhere in between, though.

Why another blog, you ask?  It’s true, the first two didn’t stick.  The first was a short-lived but impassioned series of entries about the virtues of veganism…a lifestyle which lasted four miserable months and ended in a spasmodic fit of pork-eating.  As in bacon.  In my belly.  The second was all about domestic arts but ended up chronicling a domestic break-up.  ‘Nuff said.  So!  Brand new shiny blog!

I’ll be writing about whatever is happening in my life that seems blogworthy, but there are four main things that are interesting to me these days and so you’ll probably hear about them:

1: Travel. Work is shipping me all over this blue-green globe, and though it can be challenging I am really digging it.  By the time 2010 is over I will have set up house in a total of four cities including my permanent hometown, and I know it’s not for everyone but I think it’s supremely cool.

2: Food.  I am a certifiable food geek, and proud of it.  I have a long-standing interest in the stuff, and not just for the taste.  Food is health.  Food heals.  I spent 17 years as a vegetarian which unfortunately left me with a less-than-healthy body and mind (I’m not judging that lifestyle for anyone but myself).  My current food identity is primal-traditional-locavore.  That last part is tricky since I travel so much, but so far it’s fun to learn how to eat local in different locales.  (There will probably be other health-related topics as well, like barefoot running or finding my favorite yoga studio in Bavaria.)

3: Creativity.  I have always been a creative person but I gotta tell ya, the last two years really took something outta me.  The well got totally dry.  Now, whose fault is that?  Yup, mine.  So I’m filling the well again, and taking it deeper this time.  My arts of choice include singing, acting, directing, writing, collaging, drawing, painting, songwriting, knitting, crocheting, sewing, cooking, baking, gardening, dreaming, journeying, journaling, praying, meditating, chanting, dancing, healing, and being human.

4: Relationships.  Being on the road has helped me appreciate my relationships so much more, and the work that goes into keeping them rich.  I have not always tended to that work in my life, and I’m doing my best to turn over a new leaf as regards it.  Here I may write about some of the absolutely, stunningly amazing people in my life, or cool things that happened in relation to said amazing people.  (Whether or not I’ve told you, you’re one of them.)

Welcome, and thank you for sharing whatever part of this journey you choose to share!

