A couple of weekends ago I wandered into the historic center of Annapolis, sort of on a whim near the end of the day.  I saw a sign and thought, oh why not, I’ll just drive through the center and then I can say I did it.  When I got there I thought, oh this is cute, I’ll just park and walk around for a half hour or so.  I stayed four hours, utterly enchanted by the entire historic town.  I can’t count how many times I turned a corner, caught my breath and made an actual audible exclamation at the quiet beauty of the place.  I am determined to go back before I leave.  Here’s a little photo essay of the place; I got there late in the day, so excuse the duskiness of some of the photos.

Main Street, with a peek of the harbor at the end of the road.

Old Colonial brick buildings are everywhere, with their crooked yet sturdy hand-masoned construction.  This one overlooks the U.S. Naval Academy, situated right on the harbor.

The Maryland State House, which once served as the capitol of the United States around George Washington’s time.  It is an absolutely gorgeous building; this picture doesn’t nearly do it justice.

St. John’s College, founded in 1696 as King William’s School.  One of the most idyllic campuses I’ve ever visited, with a curriculum that would make Aristotle and Shakespeare proud.  Students do nothing but read the Great Books of the World.  I want to go to there.

Graffiti on the wall of a building at St. John’s College.

Peeking over the wall into a beautiful garden which, I think, is the Paca Garden or Middendorf Conservation Center.

Peonies glowing in the dusky half-light.

