dear God I never know you so surely

as when I’m in a shaded wood

drawn into the numinous dusk of that leafy canopy

asphalt hides you from me, city drains me too quickly

but hit the dirt and I can go for miles

treading the soil, crunching the leaves of life coming full circle

dear God, I will capitalize your name and thank you

when the frogs symphonize in the half-light

and the drowned pond stirs alive with song

yes God, I will look up from my myopic daze, my narrow depression

to see how the white oak shelters the robin

and the magnolia stretches her glossy thickness across my shady path

yes I will know you when the brook

careens along the slippered river rock

and tickles my ragged toes

how can I fear man when I see you everywhere

in the moss, in the bricks

in the eyes of my leftside stranger or the laughter of a child at play

dear God, rouse me from the human dreams

of fear and greed and hate

rock my shoulder and bring me back

to the water

the wind

the shelter of an ancient elm

lay me down in fields of green

as fireflies alight on the thick night air

and guide me home

