Oh yeah, the dreaded p-word.  We have a long and complicated relationship, procrastination and I do.  Apparently it moved in for the month of June and I didn’t even notice!  But here’s what I do notice: I have been letting other voices become my music.  Hm…probably the result of too much media making my head busy with the chatter of others.  Hence, I have been avoiding writing blog posts because I can’t hear myself well enough to write anything down.  So I’m writing this down instead.

When I created my first few songs, I had to stop listening to music – any music – for about a week before I could hear my own melodies and let them come through.  I had to get out all the Joni Mitchell and Dar Williams and Jonatha Brooke and all the other women whose music I thought, “I wish I could write like that”.  Turns out I just had to write like me.

Tomorrow I begin the Artist’s Way week 4 assignment that I have been a-a-avoiding since week 4, which was over a week ago – the dreaded media diet.  It’s officially a reading diet, but I don’t really read all that much truth be told.  I do watch way too many DVD’s of Charmed (don’t judge), surf the internet, listen to music and podcasts and even the radio (when I must listen to something and don’t have anything else to listen to).  And I have to stop doing it.  Oy – it’s hard!  Well, no it’s not, actually.  To quote the team at Whole 9 (a fitness blog that intrigues and frightens me) and regain some perspective: “It is not hard.  Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Giving up heroin is hard. Beating cancer is hard.  Drinking your coffee black [or turning off the damn iPod].  Is. Not. Hard.”  And yet I actually felt the anxiety creep in this afternoon when I’d had too much quiet.  But it must be done.  It must, I say!  Then maybe I can hear the blog posts and other creative juices that are waiting to be drawn out.

In other news…home in five days!!!  Yippee!!!!  Get ready for the love, Sacramento, ’cause it’s comin’ your way.  I will miss the glorious skies here, though.  Here’s a taste (made a weence more dramatic by the Hipstamatic-ness).

