Today’s a big day!  No, I’m not coming home just yet (although tomorrow my remaining days in Korea will drop into the single digits), but some exciting things are happening within my cyber community, and I want to give a shout out!

I check out a couple dozen blogs on a daily or near-daily basis, and Nourishing Days has become a favorite stop.  The other day I read an interview on that site with Jenny McGruther of Nourished Kitchen, about the benefits of fermentation and why fermented foods are such an important part of the diet.

Ever since I first read Nourishing Traditions in 2006, I’ve been intrigued by the process of home fermentation, and my kitchen has, at various times, looked like quite the science lab.  We have kept a healthy batch of kombucha brewing on the kitchen counter for several years, and I’ve tried my hand at sauerkraut, sourdough, pickles, yogurt, gravlax, even fermented ketchup and mustard…wow, I hadn’t realized just how many projects!  And, I must admit, with varying degrees of success.  There’s an art along with the science, and I had already decided that this spring would be my time to really buckle down, play around, and learn this unique and ancient craft.

So I was positively stoked when I read that Jenny is hosting a 13-week online class in fermentation methods!  Eric and I talked and moved some money around in our spending plan so I could join the class.  Today the first lesson will be dropped like candy in my email inbox: the complete guide to yogurt.  Could it be more exciting??  (C’mon y’all, feel my love!)  If you want to learn easy ways to preserve your food while enhancing its flavor and nutrient density, take a look at what she’s offering.  If you would like to know more about why fermentation is such a valuable craft to keep alive, this article from the Weston A. Price Foundation gives a very complete answer.

When I check my email for the first lesson, I’ll also be taking a trip over to Amazon.com to participate in the book bomb for Surviving Off Off-Grid: Decolonizing the Industrial Mind by self-described “Christian Agrarian Separatist” Michael Bunker.

Now, by the author’s own self-description, I would not have found myself gravitating toward this book.  But after reading about it, first on Nourishing Days and then on Granny Miller, and reading some excerpts on the book’s Facebook page (in the Notes section), I have to admit I’ve become quite intrigued.  While a hard copy of the book will lighten you by twenty bucks, the Kindle version is only $6.99 and seems like a bargain for some good reading about how to become more independent and self-sufficient in our daily life.  Eric and I won’t be leaving our sweet electrified bungalow for a 17th-century candle-lit farmstead anytime soon, but it’ll definitely provide some great food for thought and, I hope, some ideas for the urban homesteader.

By the way, if you click on this post’s links to Nourishing Traditions or Surviving Off Off-Grid: Decolonizing the Industrial Mind , any purchase you make on the other end will kick a coupla pennies back my way as thanks for being an Amazon Affiliate.

Well!  What’s up for you today?

