Wow, it’s amazing what a few days away can do.  Thanks everyone, for your support and patience.  I’m back after a few days of dealing with some unexpected stressors, and today I’m feeling immense gratitude for the opportunity to be vulnerable, and to need help from others.  I don’t allow myself to be in that situation very often, preferring to be self-reliant in all possible ways – which is really an illusion, in the end.  “No man is an island,” as Hugh Grant so poignantly found out in About a Boy (one of my favorite films); “you need a back-up,” the boy Marcus discovered in that same movie, and he really was right.  It’s a great comfort to know that your back-up has been there all along, in the form of friends and loved ones and perfect strangers waiting to perform unexpected kindnesses – waiting for you to lean in.

One of those unexpected kindnesses now means that I’m not home “for good” after all; in just over two weeks I head to the heel of Texas for a needed six-week work assignment.  I have no complaints, even though I’m sad to leave home again so soon, and for another chunk of time.  I’m as interested as anyone else, to see what will show up on the blog while I’m gone.  Probably not a gaggle of great recipes, as I’ve been informed that my lodging has only a microwave (six weeks with only a microwave – can this foodie stand it??).  But probably a bit more Wandernest, and who really knows what else.  It’s all an adventure, right?

NEST-KEEPING

A little bit of Nest-keeping:  First of all, thanks again to all of you who participated in my first survey and helped me learn more about why you visit Maggie’s Nest and what you get out of your time spent here.  It is greatly appreciated, and I am so happy to announce that my first giveaway winner, chosen by random number generator, is Martha K!  Martha, your new copy of Real Food: What to Eat and Why will be in your hot little hands by the end of the week!

After quite a bit of thought I’ve decided that, for now, keeping up with daily posts is not feasible for me.  The first quarter of the year was a great fount of blogging inspiration, and I can’t believe I have written 88 posts since the start of the new year!  In the second quarter of the year I plan to average about 3 posts a week, and who knows, maybe I’ll be able to increase the frequency later in the year.  The majority of you who took my survey indicated that you visit 1-3 times a week, so there should still be plenty of content to keep you coming back – and don’t forget, you can easily keep informed of new posts by subscribing via email or RSS, or by following Maggie’s Nest on Facebook or Twitter.  See the sidebar for those links.

More to come – thanks again for staying tuned.

