Back in December I was offered a Kindle as a Christmas gift, and in a decluttering fervor declined on the principle that I already had the Kindle app on my iPhone; did I really need the actual Kindle?  Eric accepted the holiday deal, though, and within a few days of watching him enjoy his new gizmo I regretted my decision.  Really, you can only read for so long on a screen the size of your 7th grade school picture, and the back-lighting made it hard for me to read before bed without interrupting that all-important melatonin production.  Plus, I found out that you can upload PDF’s to the Kindle, which means that I can carry knitting projects, e-books in PDF format, and even my cheat sheet of GAPS diet do’s and don’ts – without fussing over a lot of paper.  Finally, I like the idea of going paperless and had already started buying into the e-book market with my app, but I found that I wasn’t reading those e-books as often as I would have liked because I just didn’t love reading off a computer screen.

After much hemming and hawing (I tend to do that, have you noticed?) I decided against the purchase before my trip to Korea, and really, that’s kind of what sealed the deal.  I could have made such good use of an e-reader over there, and lightened my luggage to boot!  A week before leaving I placed my order, and my sweet white Kindle was waiting for me when I got home.

But I didn’t use it much at first, because I had decided to make my own cover and until it was finished, I didn’t want to carry around a naked, unprotected piece of equipment.  A search on Etsy.com found me this really cute pattern, and a New Year’s Eve splurge at the quilting shop’s fat quarter clearance sale left me with a bunch of adorable fabric options for how to make my own.  Choosing carefully, I ended up with a cheerful protective cover for my e-reader.

As soon as I slipped the Kindle in, the seduction was complete; I haven’t gone anywhere without it since.  Although I’m happy to see a great many modern books becoming available in Kindle format, I get giddy-thrilled when I browse around the public domain options.  Favorites in that vein, so far?  Siddartha, Walden, and the many 19th century volumes concerning domestic life such as The American Frugal Housewife and Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management, which I blogged about a while back.  So much fun!

Do you have an e-reader?  What do you think about them?  Are they a step toward becoming less dependent on paper…or more dependent on electricity?  Or both?

