Well friends, I am now 8 days into the GAPS introduction diet.  How’s it going so far?  I never dreamed it would be so easy to eat the same thing over and over again – but when it’s something as delicious and comforting as homemade chicken soup, steeped in flavorful broth and surrounded by fresh onion, carrot, squash and garlic, sprinkled with sea salt and lemon juice…it really is delightful.  I can’t say I don’t miss other foods, but this really is just about the easiest way to start out a restrictive new regimen.

Added to the daily soups, starting on Day 2 last week, were raw egg yolks.  These weren’t just any eggs, of course; these are pastured eggs from our local co-op, with dark orange, thick and sturdy yolks.  Mixed into a bowl of soup, the raw yolk distributes and turns the liquid to gorgeous, creamy, yellow goodness.  Wow.  That has been a revelation.

Another revelation?  Whole garlic cloves simmered in chicken broth.  O.M.G. Last week Eric and I stopped by the Asian market down the street, where he loves to pick up these baggies of peeled whole garlic cloves – $1.50 for a good pint of ’em.  Now, I’m not crazy about garlic (I hope this doesn’t disqualify me from my dream of someday becoming a gourmet chef!) – I find the taste to usually be harsh, and too much cooked in the wrong way will give me heartburn for days.  But I know that garlic is an incredibly healing food and recommended during the GAPS intro diet, so I threw some whole cloves into my chicken soup.  A half-hour later I popped one into my mouth and absolutely relished the mellow creamy texture that spread across my tongue.  Heaven!  I am keen to try this in other applications as well, maybe as a garlic-mayonnaise spread?  Or simmered with leeks and mushrooms in stock, then immersion blended into a creamy garlic soup?  Hm.  Much to look forward to.

This food has been so comforting that I find myself reluctant to introduce new foods.  I did give avocado a try on Days 3 & 4, but amazingly, within an hour it was clear that my body wasn’t ready for it!  I would never have guessed. Introducing small amounts of raw milk kefir and ghee (clarified butter) went better, and I’m hopeful that I won’t encounter any delayed reactions.

The next food to introduce is small thin pancakes, made with nut butter, egg and butternut squash and fried in ghee.  I have all the ingredients for it, but I notice I’m half-eager and half-reluctant to try.  I’d almost rather believe that it’s a future possibility, than find out that it’s not.  Isn’t that interesting?  Regardless, I am going to try it either today or tomorrow.  I’ll let y’all know how it goes.

On Wednesday I fly to Texas to begin my six weeks there, and the reality of tending to this diet while in a hotel room armed with only a mini-fridge and a slow cooker (the microwave will NOT be used) is growing more daunting by the minute.  Honestly, beyond slow-cooked soup and refrigerated (commercial but good-quality) sauerkraut, I really don’t know how it’s going to work.  Again, I’ll report as I go along.  My latest idea is that maybe, by wrapping glass jars in towels and setting on a heating pad, I can make yogurt in the room.  Yes, I know you can buy yogurt in the stores, but for the GAPS diet you have to make your own so that you can ferment it a long time (24 hours at least) to ensure that all or most of the lactose has been eaten up by the beneficial flora.  C’est la vie.

Well, here’s to the adventure!

