Wow, heading into Week 6 already…all of a sudden it seems to be going fast.  Over the last week I’ve had much better success re-introducing foods, and am feeling confident that the rest of my re-introductions will go smoothly.  Last week avocado made the grade, and over the weekend I had to do some creative eating and all of it panned out well.

I spent the weekend in Austin with a dear friend (the same dear friend that drove quite a ways to see me for my birthday on Tuesday) and brought a grocery bag of GAPS-friendly foods to eat: a thermos of chicken-veggie soup, a container of homemade yogurt, the rest of my fermented salmon, plus jars of ghee and raw honey.  On Saturday evening I attended a game night with some friends of friends, and there was quite a spread of delicious-looking foods.  Nothing was GAPS intro-friendly, however (why would it be?) and at some point I eyed the black olives.  Hm…I thought.  Well, they’re not raw, they’re cured.  And olives are pretty fatty, and not very fibrous.  I gave it a try, and ended up eating seven big fat olives with no problems.  Then on Sunday I ran out of the food I had brought with me for the weekend, and scoured Central Market for something from the prepared foods aisle – grilled salmon and asparagus was the best I could find, and those both went down just fine, even without probiotics or broth to go with them.  I think my body is starting to heal!

So this week I’m finally breaking out of my soup rut, and trying some solid foods that I can eat on their own – with sides of broth and probiotic, of course, but not necessarily mixed right in.  This post from Keeper of the Home, called “Recipes and Ideas for What to Eat on the GAPS Introduction Diet” has inspired me to try some more daring ideas, like maybe stuffed mushrooms or meatloaf – exciting, right?  Right now there’s a small butternut squash cooking in the oven, to be used for the Stage 3 pancake re-introduction (more below), and also for the squash meatball recipe that got me salivating on that Keeper of the Home post.  If I end up handling the squash okay, I feel like it’ll open up my options quite a bit.  It’s also one of my very favorite foods, so no complaints there.

The Stage 3 pancake also includes nut butter.  The first time I re-introduced nut butter it was an awful failure, but it was very early on (day 3?) and the nuts had not been soaked so I’m sure they were full of anti-nutrients.  This time around I was careful to buy pecan butter from a source I trust (Artisana, which makes exquisite nut butters including my beloved coconut butter) so if it’s a failure, I’ll know that my body just isn’t ready for it.

I’m a little confused as to why, in Stage 3, a relatively complex food like the pancake is introduced.  Of the three ingredients (egg, nut butter and winter squash) only one has been previously re-introduced, and it occurs to me that if the re-introduction doesn’t go well, I won’t be exactly sure how to attribute the problem.  So, I’m reintro-ing winter squash separately, first.

Also, in a bold move, I bought two apples and a banana over the weekend.  Whole eggs seem to be giving me a problem still (although the yolks seem fine) so ripe banana may have to be tried as an egg alternative in the pancake.  And the apples…well I suppose it’s just wishful thinking more than anything else.  I might slice one reeeally thinly and saute it in a ton of ghee…and see what happens.

Overall I’m feeling better than I have been for the last two weeks, although I can’t say that I feel all the way better.  More resilient, though, for sure.  So we carry on.

