Friends, it’s time for some recalibration here at the nest.  I realize that my post-a-day ambitions have flown out the window of late, in the midst of some serious soul-searching and “personal earthquakes” as I called them in a recent post.  And as I’ve watched myself unable to keep that commitment, it’s given me a lot of time to think (and since I was in Texas with nothing to do during my off-time except think, it really was a lot of time) about why I write this blog and what I’m really here to share with you.

Over the weekend I listened to a podcast with the powerful, dazzling Danielle LaPorte of White Hot Truth; she was talking to Jonathan Fields and a worldwide audience about entrepreneurship and the nuts and bolts of What It Takes.  You know what I mean by that, don’t you?  I mean What It Takes To Be Big.  Bold.  Brilliant.  To take up space and stake your claim of the human experience, to be a beacon of something larger than yourself.  To become significant, which is a searingly honest end-goal of any entrepreneur.

Maggie’s Nest started as a platform for my personal musings about my life, a place to write letters to whoever might read them.  Over time I discovered that I loved to write, and to engage in the peculiar brand of conversation and community that happens in the blogosphere.  Earlier this year, inspired by other blogs that are becoming Significant, I felt pulled to widen my audience and turn this blog into a platform for what I have to offer, as a human being, to the world.

The inevitable question, then, has become: what do I actually have to offer?  Or, put in more spiritual (and for me, more salient) terms, How am I meant to serve? If this sounds like a compliment-fishing question, be assured that it isn’t.  It’s the central question that every entrepreneur (and maybe every person) has to ask him- or herself.  And the answer has to be compelling, or you’re dead in the water.

This question has been consuming me for the last month…and I still don’t have a clear answer.  Ain’t that a bitch?  Still, I keep asking.  Because it’s a question that reaches into every part of life, and without an answer, there is no wind.  No wind means no movement.  Dead in the water.

I don’t know yet the answer of what Maggie’s Nest is here to do, or how it will evolve as these questions become answered.  I do know that I still love writing here, and sharing and connecting with you all in the strange ways that happens.  So my intention is to keep writing through the questions; to, as Rainer Maria Rilke so beautifully put it, “live the questions”.  In fact, here’s the full quote that has been salve on my heart in recent weeks:

“…I would like to beg you dear Sir, as well as I can, to have patience with
everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves
as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language.
Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the
questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually,
without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.”
(from Letters to a Young Poet)

I intend to be here about three times a week to write through the questions, and I guess we’ll all live our way into the answers.

{top photo credit}

